Old Squeaky

Old Squeaky

By: Filip Brunner

Spiritual lessons from a car

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This book is dedicated to my family, my wife Kim, and to our six children and to a quirky little car we affectionately call:

“Old Squeaky”.

 

Introduction

 

So I took out “Old Squeaky” today and we went on yet another rescue mission. “Old Squeaky” as we call it, is a 1997 Ford Thunderbird. When I bought it in 2016, nobody liked it. It was loud, deformed, old, and dangerous on wet pavement. But most of all it squeaked at slow speeds.

I originally bought it for my daughter to replace her first car which died on her for the last time in 2016.  The Thunderbird had its original engine with less than 80,000 miles on it. It ran well and had no major issues. It was the ugly duckling in the midst of our flotilla of cars:functional, but despised and rejected by all. Let dad drive it; he only takes it to work and back and will not be embarrassed to drive “Old Squeaky.” No one said it out loud but that was precisely who ended up with it.

We, just like the car, at times feel unwanted, ugly and out of step with society. The Smiths and Joneses of our time have left us behind and our walk with the Lord is not what we have envisioned it be.

There are several observations I have made about the little car, which parallel our spiritual lives as well.

All full scripture references (full verses – not partial paraphrases of Scripture), are taken from the King James Bible (public domain)

 

Dedication

 

This book is designed to present the reader with a lighthearted approach to understanding the world we live in and to provide ammunition for the fight.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Instructions:

 

This devotional is divided into sections of six day weeks; the seventh day is for rest and reflection.

The reader can read this material randomly or in order; this is strictly up to you.

 

Week One

 

Day One:

 

“Old Squeaky” is often overlooked.

 

“And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.”

Matthew 25:40

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let’s be honest, who wants to be seen in an ugly old car that makes odd noises as it goes down the street? My daughter could not possibly want to be seen at the senior prom in it. Her mother’s crossover is nothing more than an updated version of a station wagon, so it is not much better. What was I as her father to do? With a deep sigh and a bewildered look on my face, I reluctantly handed her the keys to the 2003 Jaguar x- class.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“You have not because you ask not. When you do ask, you ask amiss so you can use it for your selfish desires.”

At times what God provides and what we want are two different things. God provides “Old Squeaky” but we want the Jag. The problem is how to get from point A to point B and back safely. God provides the transportation but we are not satisfied with the provision.

Don’t get me wrong, as a father I want the best for my children.

“If you being evil know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly father give you good gifts?”

Does that mean that we need to indulge our children’s every whim? Certainly not, and neither does our Heavenly Father indulge us all the time. In the Psalms,King David puts it this way: “I have been young, and now am old yet have I not seen the righteous forsaken nor his seed begging bread.”  In the New Testament, the apostle Paul puts it another way when he states that he has learned contentment. Both writers have observed the all sufficiency of God’s provision.

 

 

 

Question of the day:

 Have I ever misjudged someone based on our first impression of them?How should I see the people around myself?

Leave a Reply

